The last book in the Wheel of Time series has a release date – NEXT YEAR (A Memory of Light)

I got my first book in the Wheel of Time series handed to me when I was 15. I had read plenty of “classic literature” books before then, and had played plenty of science fiction video games, but for some reason the two worlds had never collided. I spent the summer working at one of my first summer jobs. A guy at work was reading this book during a break in the back room.

I remember looking at this cover and scoffing. The graphics were better in the latest Final Fantasy game. He looked at me and laughed. He handed me the book (I found out later he was re-reading an old favorite) and said “You’ll be buying your own copy by the end of the week”.

He was wrong.

I bought my own copy by the end of the night.

My introduction to the world of science fiction novels was thanks to a skinny little kid in a break room and I can’t remember his name, but the name Rand is imprinted in my mind. (and not just because of Ayn Rand)

I have been waiting a long time for this last book to come out. I cried when Robert Jordan died in 2007. I decided to read the books by Brandon Sanderson when he was chosen, to see if he could complete the series.

And then the inevitable – my quest for an ending became TOR’s quest for a profit. The book that I had been waiting for, the closure that I so desperately wanted, became three books. Sanderson wins because he gets to take his time giving closure for ever character, TOR wins, because they get to sell more books, but I have been waiting for five years for an ending that will now be another year coming. The final book in the Wheel of Time series is coming out on January 8, 2013:

 

The first novel in Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time®, The Eye of the World, was released on January 15, 1990. Now more than twenty years later, Tor Books is thrilled to announce the official publication date for the final novel in the series.

A Memory of Light will release on January 8, 2013, in the final month of the Year of the Dragon.

A Memory of Light is one of the most important titles that Tor will ever publish. Many of the principal players have been involved with the series since its inception, including Publisher Tom Doherty and Editor Harriet McDougal, who worked with Robert Jordan on all of his books, and who is working with Brandon Sanderson, the writer finishing the series from Robert Jordan’s outline and his notes. This is a landmark publication not just for Tor but for millions of fans of the late Robert Jordan, who eagerly await the conclusion to his epic tale. Everyone involved with the project is committed to making this an ending to remember.

Over the next few seasons, Tor will continue to release new Wheel of Time material, including trade paperback editions of the early novels with new art, new graphic novel editions of the The Eye of the World comics, and other material related to A Memory of Light as we get closer to publication date.

What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

If they were going to be dramatic about the ending, it may have made more sense to have the final book released on the same day the original came out 23 years prior, since it’s only 7 days apart and all. But why, if the book is finished – and it is, Sanderson tweeted that he finished writing the book – why not let us have our closure?

I need to know what happens! I feel like I have waited long enough. A lot can happen in a year… That whole Mayan calendar thing had better be wrong because if the world ends before I get to find out what happened I’m going to be pissed!

 

So it seems I have plenty of time to go through and re-read the series before the book is released – BECAUSE I HAVE A YEAR!!!!!!!  No amount of give-aways and freebies make up for the fact that I have to wait yet another year for my closure.

Oh I’ll buy the book, have it the day it comes out, and most likely take that week off of work. But know this TOR – Robert Jordan would not have done this to us.

2 thoughts on “The last book in the Wheel of Time series has a release date – NEXT YEAR (A Memory of Light)

  1. Thank God… I’ve been waiting for this forever… I think that part of the reason that they waited until the new year was to give their sales a boost at the beginning of the calendar. Anyway, I’m happy for all of us who have been on this journey… It should be a great ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

