SCCOR Protest

Now, the time is at hand to discuss the first SCCOR protest.

As many have heard, it is at the Rehoboth Beach Boardwalk on Sunday, August 2nd, 2009 from 2-4pm.  We are protesting the building of the boardwalk with stimulus handouts.

As I made this information public, I received a response from Darrel Cole of DelDOT which he sent out to Jud, and was e-mailed out on the infamous Coast-to-coast network.  I have been working on a response to Mr. Cole (well, I started one last night), and I suppose I will post it here and see what people have to say about it (like I expect comments…)

I probably don’t need the history lesson in it, but I felt like Mr. Cole needed it…

I am unsure as to how many people have researched FDR’s New Deal.  During his first 100 days in office, Franklin Delano Roosevelt created many government funded jobs and ensured work for people that were unemployed during the depression.  FDR was elected to 4 terms in office as President and is well known for lifting America out of the depression.

 

There have been recent developments in research and analysis regarding his policies.  A few websites that may be checked out are:

http://newsroom.ucla.edu/portal/ucla/FDR-s-Policies-Prolonged-Depression-5409.aspx

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123353276749137485.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Deal

 

A few reasons why one may say FDR’s New Deal actually prolonged the depression which stands out to me are relatively easy to understand.  I tend to pay attention to the excise taxes which hit hardest those who could least afford it.  I would point to the recent increases in cigarette and alcohol taxes.  The argument could be made that one should encourage these people to simply stop smoking or drinking, however, the cigarette taxes are being used to contribute to the SCHIP program.  I, personally, see extreme irony in using taxes from cigarettes to pay for healthcare.  Unfortunately, I digress.  I shall try to stick to the issue at hand, but as a history major, I tend to believe that history repeats itself and relate history to many aspects of current life.

 

So, it is easy to see which aspects of FDR’s New Deal relate to President Obama’s Stimulus Package.  The Stimulus Package money is to be used for “shovel-ready” projects (I will refrain from mentioning that since Rehoboth is currently packed with visitors, the rebuilding of the second half of the Boardwalk will have to wait until the “season” is over), many of which create jobs and improve the standard of living for those in the surrounding areas. 

 

I will first discuss the creation of jobs which will occur rebuilding the Rehoboth Beach Boardwalk.  I admit there will be people employed by rebuilding this Boardwalk.  I am glad people will be employed because of this endeavor (even though there was just a large debate regarding state employees, size of Delaware’s state government, and state employee pay cuts).  I do, however, wish I would not personally be paying for these people to be employed with my tax dollars.  When I look at family and children now, I do not immediately focus on their smiling, happy faces.  I see a number above their heads as to how much they are in debt because of paying for things like the Rehoboth Beach Boardwalk project.

 

I suppose what I am really saying is that I do not want to pay for these 1200 people to be employed.  I am not trying to insult DelDOT, or Mr. Darrel Cole, and I appreciate the swift and informative response he gave to SCCOR’s protest plans.  I understand that there are two sides to every story, but I would like to ensure my side is made quite clear.  Having worked in Rehoboth (downtown) for many years, I have never personally heard a tourist complain about the quality of the Rehoboth Beach Boardwalk.  I have never personally heard anyone say they would never return to Rehoboth based on the quality of their boardwalk.  I simply do not understand how receiving a federal handout in order to rebuild a boardwalk which is already functional will increase our tourism.  Lastly, and relatively importantly, I do not want to foot the bill for a possible increased tourism rate based on rebuilding a functional and prettier boardwalk.

 

~Angel Clark~

www.sccor.org

Sussexcountyangel@live.com

Leave a Reply

