Well, I guess I should join the rest of the world, or make them join me

As I was informed, it is past Wednesday (I tend to procrastinatem but I guess Saturday makes me a bit just plain late).  I will start by a general bit of information.  My blogs are only written at late hours because I am always up late.  If I get more then 5 hours of sleep then I feel that I am missing important information.  I am also a major night owl, so I’m normally up late and hating mornings.  That does not mean call late, it means if you e-mail me at 7 am, you will most likely not get a response until 3 am the next day.  The time zone really doesn’t Today, due to the weather, I was off work early.  Not many were braving the roads in Fenwick for good reason.  On a side note, I did go to the beach today, it was great.  Very windy, very large waves, very little sand, and NO PEOPLE! I love the hurricane season here.

That being said, I will start with the subject I have had so many e-mails about.  I have heard what you had to say about it, so now I will tell you how I felt about the 9/12 meeting…

I will say I have mixed feelings, and days of thought as well as emails has really not helped me form a more defined opinion.  I came to this meeting with high hopes, and that may have been part of the problem.  A friend of mine, while SCCOR was on it’s downward spiral, had told me that 9/12 put less emphasis on the single person and more emphasis on the issues and accomplishments.  I feel a big part of the reason SCCOR had issues had to do with individuals trying to push their own agendas.  The government pushes its agenda, and I’m sick of that.  And when I say agenda, I don’t mean “hey, lets try to stop public option health care” I mean agenda like maybe I can use this group for my own personal gain.  The only person that I allow to make me feel useless is myself, so I was tired of that attitude. 

Having dealt with a lack of dedication and motivation for a long period of time, I was looking for other groups to be active in when a friend told me about 9/12.  I was pretty excited, as you can imagine, when I heard about the upcoming merge.  I had met Russ and the rest of the head gang at the previous SCCOR meeting and had like what I heard.  I went onto the website and found myself frustrated with the layout.  I guess Andrew Jackson at www.Pooririshman.com is SO much better then I had been giving him credit for!  So I figured I would talk to everyone at the meeting and see what I thought there.

I am, as previously mentioned, always late, so I was late to the meeting.  Apparently, I wasn’t the only one.  The whole group was late.  Now, I don’t want to say anything too negative based on a first impression, but I will say this.  It seemed to me like 9/12 was also a one man show.  I felt that people were not being listened to as m uch as they could have been and others seemed to feel the same. 

In defense of Russ and 9/12:  It is not easy to talk in front of people.  I am well-versed in public speaking, and have no problem with it, but many are not.  It is especially harder to speak in front of people when they are all trying to tell you what to do. 

I will also say something else.  A friend of mine told me he has no hope for this group, and will not attend another meeting.  I, on the other hand, will be there.  I was going to go to the Delaware tea party meeting on Thursday night, but I have class then.  (Why do bi-partison activist groups always seem to meet on Tuesdays or Thursday nights?) 

I am tired of depending on other people to help me accomplish things.  I know that you cannot do everything by yourself, but from this point on, I plan on doing things myself.  I will let others help me, but I will not wait for assistance.  I have a happy little family here, a husband and a cat, and I plan on expanding that family someday.  In order to do so, I have to accept the torch that was passed on to me – founding fathers to their children – and so forth, down to me.  If I want my children to live in the same amazing America that I grew up in, I will have to make the effort and take the time to keep this country great. 

I have found that the Campaign for Liberty attracts a large number of people my age.  Ron Paul inspires many to get involved.  I plan to tap that, and GET PEOPLE ACTIVE.  The 9/12 March on DC was a great inspiration to me.  There were hundreds of thousands of people there my age. 

So this is my final analysis:

 groups will always disappoint.  No group will instantly fufill your every desire to make this country grab its backbone.  The best way to move forward is to take the path provided you and use every advantage it gives you.  Since the meeting, I have been in e-mail contact with a few of the very active people in 9/12 and have been pleased with the information they gave me.  I have the choice to do with that information as I will.  That is the important thing, everyone has the choice to do in life what they will.  As cliche as it sounds, life is what you make it.  America can be what you make it.  And I plan on making it great.  If people keep backing down, it will take time. What I saw at 9/12 helped me see it’s not just me, and this doesn’t have to take time. 

If people want to help American government adhere to the Constitution, SPEAK UP!  I am not embarassed to say I love the Constitution.  If you feel the same, post on here, email me at sussexcountyangel@live.com or contact me via facebook.  I will give you something to focus on, you will have to choose whether America is worth it or not…

2 thoughts on “Well, I guess I should join the rest of the world, or make them join me

  1. Hi Angel – i think i received your friend request on Facebook, but since i don’t know you, didn’t confirm. I hope i find you at the next 9-12 meeting. But i go to the Kent Co one – which one do you attend? About the 9-12ers – i hope you continue to attend. I’ve been with them since first meetings of a handful of people. We are growing. I feel with each meeting the group is progressing. At the 10-7 meeting, the committees got together for the first time and discussed how we think we should/could proceed. I felt good about the outcome. I think the organizers of the 9-12 group have learned a lot about organizing and conducting meetings. I’m a meeting attender and organizer from way-back – it takes time to get it right, and the 9-12ers are getting it right. Stick with us. We need you young people to eventually become the leaders. I was so charged at the DC Rally, 9-12. I loved every minute. Bought the 11×36 photo, gotta get it framed! Best wishes!

    Like

  2. Angel, I agree with so much that you said. As much as I really liked SCCOR, I also saw the “agenda” crap going on and tried to ignore it. As postings ground to a depressingly slow pace, I tried Facebook and have connected with like-minded folks as well as some back and forth with not so like-minded..lol.
    I have a hard time with the 912 site as well but want to stay connected to as many conservative outlets as possible. I want to participate publicly as much as I can…meetings, rallies, etc.. Have had obstacles keep me from being as involved as I would like to be but I keep watching for events and hope that we all keep focused and really make a difference. I want my country back!

    Like

Leave a Reply

