Another day another police state story

I’m not going to dwell on the story of Drake, the dog who was shot in his owner’s yard, but I’ll share it with you.

http://www.examiner.com/article/police-shoot-pregnant-mother-s-dog-her-own-driveway

I talked to Drake’s owner and vet today and found myself yet again depressed by the news. I can tell you that I think Drake’s owner, Jessica, will get enough in donations to pay the thousands it will cost to keep Drake alive after being shot in the head by the LAPD.

As I wrote that article, the cat was sleeping next to me. He’s turning 11 this year, and he’s very overweight. He sleeps next to me almost all day, and I can’t imagine life without him. I don’t know what I would do if he were killed by people who were supposed to “protect”.

Fatty is an inside cat, he’s actually scared of the outside. But maybe twice a year he runs outside, normally spring and fall. I live near a six lane highway, so I get scared when he’s outside. I know, I’m overprotective.

He normally comes back to my front door within three hours, meowing and panting, and runs inside to hide under the coffee table for hours.

Most cats are very independent. They come to you when they want, they let you know when they’re tired of you by hitting you. My cat is different. He follows me around like a puppy and is constantly trying to sleep in my lap.

The thing is, since most cats are independent, they tend to hiss and growl at people at random times. That doesn’t mean they’ll attack them, it just means they hiss and growl.

I can’t imagine what I would do if the cat went for one of his bi-annual runs and a cop shot him in the head. My cat is like my child, I love him.

If a police dog is killed, it’s just like killing a cop. Why can they shot our pets with no repercussions?

Here's Drake with one of his owners before the LAPD shot him in his head.

Here’s Drake with one of his owners before the LAPD shot him in his head.

One thought on “Another day another police state story

Leave a Reply

